Item added to your basket.

Aoife Nessa Frances
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
28 October 2022
  • Vinyl 1×LP, Limited Coloured


    Pressed on limited edition white vinyl, housed in a single sleeve jacket and printed inner sleeve.

    Read More
    • + MP3


  • Vinyl 12”


    Housed in a single sleeve jacket and printed inner sleeve.

    Read More
    • + MP3


  • CD


    CD housed in a cardboard wallet.

    Read More
    • + MP3


  • Download

    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Protector via digital download (MP3)

In the spring of 2020, Aoife Nessa Frances packed up her things in Dublin and moved to rural County Clare on the west coast of Ireland. It was there, amidst the stillness, that she began to work on the songs that would become her second album, Protector: a personal, mystical journey of self-discovery through dislocation, transformation, and restoration. "I might have been running away from my problems," she admits. "I was disconnected from myself and from nature, but I found peace far away from the city, where there were no distractions. I isolated myself with nothing to do but make music.”

Recording took place in a small house in County Kerry, at the foothills of the Annascaul, along with Brendan Jenkinson (producer, keys, bass, synth, clarinet) and Brendan Doherty (drums). “We’d wake up early every day and swim at Inch Beach before making music,” Frances describes. “This ritual was crucial for our process. There was an unexplainable joy happening between the three of us.” The arrangements grew with later contributions from Ailbhe Nic Oiroictaigh (strings), Meabh McKenna (harp), and Conor O’Brien (horns). No matter how it expanded in scope and involvement, Frances never let it stray from a central focus on deep truths. “For me, Protector acknowledges the part of myself that steers me towards a brighter path. The almost psychotropic power of nature gave me a connection I never felt before. As the countryside seeped into me and lines of communication opened up with my family, I developed an ability to perceive myself and my choices within an expanded world.”

Protector builds pastoral landscapes through light flourishes and open spaces. Songs float along effortlessly, remaining anchored by Frances’ deep voice. Contemplative tempos tug along atmospheric synths, minimal bass, and shimmering guitar notes, conveying a serenity like early morning. “Writing and recording this album was a spiritual experience,” Frances explains. “I experienced love for my family on a level I didn’t know existed, while slowly putting myself back together and watching the ‘protector’ in me grow much bigger.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Way To Say Goodbye 4:42 Buy

    Way To Say Goodbye

  2. 2 This Still Life 4:31 Buy

    This Still Life

  3. 3 Emptiness Follows 4:34 Buy

    Emptiness Follows

  4. 4 Only Child 7:08 Buy

    Only Child

  5. 5 Chariot 5:26 Buy


  6. 6 Back To Earth 4:38 Buy

    Back To Earth

  7. 7 Soft Lines 5:37 Buy

    Soft Lines

  8. 8 Day Out of Time 7:22 Buy

    Day Out of Time

Aoife Nessa Frances

Aoife Nessa Frances

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences